The Association of Management of Catholic Secondary Schools (AMCSS) was established in 1987. Organised on a Regional level with 10 regions, it now forms the basis of the Council of Management of Catholic Secondary Schools (CMCSS) which has been in existence since the 1960's.

The Board of Management of each member school is represented by its Chairperson and Secretary (who is also the Principal) at the Regional Meetings of AMCSS. Each Region sends two representatives - one a Chairperson and the other a Secretary / Principal - to the Council of Management of Catholic Secondary Schools (CMCSS).

AMCSS Mission Statement

The mission of the AMCSS is to promote, represent and support the work of the Boards of Management and Principals of Catholic Secondary Schools in Ireland in living the ideal of the Catholic school. Inspired by the vision  and life of Jesus Christ, our schools strive, in a spirit of partnership, to create and develop communities of faith in which the development of the whole person is paramount.

The Council (CMCSS) has 23 members :
  • The President
  • 20 Regional Representatives (i.e., 2 elected members from each of the 10 AMCSS Regions)
  • One representative from the Catholic Bishops' Episcopal Education Commission
  • One representative from the Conference of Religious in Ireland (CORI) Education Commission. 

CMCSS may delegate certain tasks to a Standing Committee consisting of the President and 4 elected members. CMCSS is the executive body which represents the interests of the country's Catholic Secondary Schools. It negotiates on their behalf with the Department of Education and Science (DES), the Association of Secondary Teachers, Ireland (ASTI) and other bodies on issues such as:

> Funding of Catholic Secondary Schools
> Redeployment Scheme for teachers in Catholic Secondary Schools
> Teacher Contracts
> Articles of Management for Catholic Secondary Schools, etc.

The CMCSS also maintains contacts and interacts with other national and international groups interested in Catholic education.It is funded by means of an annual levy based on the number of students enrolled in each member school.

The Council is the governing body of the Secretariat of Secondary Schools which is the administrative centre of information, research and action on behalf of member schools.
Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now